Modern History Simplified: Brahmo Samaj [1828]

Brahmo Samaj [1828]
  1. In 1828, Raja Ram Mohan Roy founded Brahmo Samaj which wanted  to purify Hinduism and to preach monotheism. It also promoted Upanishads and denounced polytheism and idol worship
  2. In matters of social reform, the Samaj attacked many dogmas and superstitions.
  3. It worked for a respectable status for women in society- condemned sati, worked for abolition of purdah system, discouraged child marriage and polygamy, crusaded for widow remarriage and for provisions of educational facilities.
  4. It also attacked casteism and untouchability though in these matters it attained only limited success
  5. Rammohan Roy did not want to establish a new religion. He only wanted to purify Hinduism of the evil practices which had crept into it.
  6. Gradually, the Brahmo Samaj came to include prominent followers of Rammohan, the Derozians and independent thinkers such as Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar, Debendranath Tagore and Ashwini Kumar Datta.
  7. He joined Brahmo Samaj in 1842. Under Debendranath Tagore, Brahmo Samaj worked on two fronts. One is within Hinduism, it tried to introduce reforms and Two, outside Hinduism, they opposed Christian missionaries as they attempted conversions. 
  8. Keshab Chandra Sen joined the Brahmo Samaj in 1858. He was instrumental in popularising the movement, and branches of the Samaj were opened outside Bengal—in the United Provinces, Punjab, Bombay, Madras and other towns.
  9. There were clashes or skirmishes between Debendranath Tagore and K.C. Sen as Debendranath Tagore founded K.C. Sen’s strategies are too radical. For instance, cosmopolitanisation of the Samaj’s meetings by inclusion of teachings from all religions or his open support to inter-caste marriages. 
  10. Keshab and his followers founded the Brahmo Samaj of India in 1866, while Debendranath Tagore’s Samaj came to be known as the Adi Brahmo Samaj. 
  11. Later K.C.Sen was accused of authoritarianism and hence his followers set up another organisation known as the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj which reiterated the Brahmo doctrines. Important members include Ananda Mohan Bose, Shibchandra Deb and Umesh Chandra Datta.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *