Modern History Simplified: Indian Independence Act 1947

Indian Independence Act 1947
The Act declared India as an Independent and sovereign State from August 15, 1947.
Features of the act:
  1. End of British rule
  2. Partition of India: Two independent dominions were created with the right to secede from the British Commonwealth.
  3. Office of Viceroy was abolished and for each dominion, a governor-general was appointed by the British King on the advice of the dominion cabinet. 
  4. His majesty’s government in Britain was to have no responsibility with respect to the government of India or Pakistan. 
  5. Constituent Assembly:The Act empowered the constituent assemblies of the two dominions :
    1. To frame and adopt any constitution for their respective nations.
    2. To repeal any act of the British parliament, including the independence act itself. 
  6. The position of Secretary of State was abolished. 
  7. Princely States:
    1. The Act proclaimed the lapse of British paramountcy over the Indian princely States. 
    2. It granted the freedom to the Indian Princely States to join the Dominion of India, Dominion of Pakistan or to remain Independent. 
  8. Government of India Act 1935: It provided for the governance of each of the Dominion and the Provinces by the Government of India Act 1935, till the new constitution was framed. 
  9. Veto Power: It deprived the British Monarch of his right to veto bills or ask for reservation of certain bills for his approval. But, this right was reserved fir the governor general.
  10. Governor-General
    1. They were the nominal heads of the state.
    2. The governor general would have full power to assent to any bill in the name of his Majesty. 
    3. But they had to act on the advice of their respective council of ministers in all matters. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *