Modern History Simplified: Learn about the Bengal State during the post Mughal period (18th century)

The weakening of the central political structure of the Mughal Empire and erosion of its military strength created some sort of a political vacuum in India- tempting ambitious Subedars and powerful regional chiefs to carve out semi independent or independent principalities for themselves.
Thus the eighteenth century saw the rise of a large number of autonomous states on the debris of the Mughal empire such as Bengal, Awadh, Hyderabad, Mysore, Marathas, Jats, Sikhs and Rajputs which is referred by many as a spectre of a fragmented polity.
The State of Bengal in 18th Century
Murshid Quli Khan (1717-1727)
  1. Appointed as Bengal’s Diwan by Aurangzeb (1700) and also served as Subedar under Farrukh Siyar. 
  2. He transferred the capital from Dhaka to Murshidabad.
  3. He was a sound administrator.
    1. Gave Taccavi loans to peasants 
    2. Gave equal opportunities of employment to Muslims and Hindus
Alivardi Khan (1740-1756)
  1. He prevented the English from misusing their trade privileges.
  2. Prohibited English and the French from fortifying their factories at Calcutta and Chandannagar respectively.
  3. During his reign there was a continuous incursion of Marathas and he had to pay Chauth to Raghuji Bhonsle.
Siraj-Ud-Daula (1756-1757)

The Challenges faced by Siraj-Ud-Daula led to the Treaty of Alinagar, Battle of Plassey and Battle of Buxar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *