Prelimsverse: Important dynasties and Kings of the Medieval period in India. 


Pallava dynastyFrom 275 CE to 897 CE, The Pallava dynasty ruled a significant portion of the Deccan.The dynasty rose to prominence after the downfall of the Satavahana dynasty, with whom they had formerly served as feudatories
Empire of Harsha (Vardhana Dynasty)From 606 to 647 CEHarshavardhana was an Indian emperor.  He eventually made Kannauj (in present Uttar Pradesh state) his capital.
Gurjara-Pratihara dynastyFrom mid-8th to the 11th centuryThe Gurjara-Pratihara was a dynasty that ruled much of Northern India from the mid-8th to the 11th century. They ruled first at Ujjain and later at Kannauj.
Chalukya dynasty Between the 6th and the 12th centuries.That ruled large parts of southern and central India.The rule of the Chalukyas marks an important milestone in the history of South India and a golden age in the history of Karnataka.
Eastern ChalukyasBetween the 7th and 12th centuries. Eastern Chalukyas, also known as the Chalukyas of Vengi, were a dynasty that ruled parts of South India.They started out as governors of the Chalukyas of Badami in the Deccan region. Ruled the Vengi region of present-day Andhra Pradesh
Pala EmpireThe empire was founded with the election of Gopala as the emperor of Gauda in 750 CE.The Pala stronghold was located in Bengal and eastern Bihar, which included the major cities of Gauda, Vikrampura, Pataliputra, Monghyr, Somapura, Ramvati (Varendra), Tamralipta and Jaggadala.The last major dynasty to provide patronage to  Buddhism. 
Chola EmpireBetween 907 and 1215 AD.They unified peninsular India, south of the Tungabhadra, and held as one state for three centuries between 907 and 1215 AD. Under Rajaraja I and his successors Rajendra I, Rajadhiraja I, Rajendra II, Virarajendra, and Kulothunga Chola I, the dynasty became a military, economic and cultural powerhouse in South Asia and South-East Asia.
Western Chalukya EmpireBetween the 10th and 12th centuriesRuled most of the western Deccan and some of South India, between the 10th to 12th centuries. Kannada-speaking, with capital at Badami.
Kalachuri dynastyBetween the 10th and 12th centuriesRuled areas in Central India during 10th-12th centuries.Their core territory included the historical Chedi region and their capital was located at Tripuri (Madhya Pradesh).
Western Ganga dynastyFrom about 350 to 1000 CEInitially ruling from Kolar and later, moving their capital to Talakadu on the banks of the Kaveri River in modern Mysore district.
The large monolithic Bahubali of Shravanabelagola was built during their rule.
Eastern Ganga dynasty5th century to the early 15th century.
The territory ruled by the dynasty consisted of the whole of the modern-day Indian state of Odisha.
They have built the famous Konark Sun Temple and Jagannath Temple, Puri.
Hoysala EmpireBetween the 10th and the 14th centuries.
South Indian Karnataka/Kannada  empire.The capital of the Hoysalas was initially located at Belur but was later moved to Halebidu.
Kakatiya KingdomFrom 1083 to 1323 CEA  Telugu dynasty that ruled most of current day Andhra Pradesh
Their capital was Orugallu, now known as Warangal.
Sena dynastyBetween  the 11th and 12th centuries.Ruled from Bengal and the empire, at its peak covered much of the north-eastern region of the Indian subcontinent.The dynasty’s founder was Samanta Sena. 
Kamarupa dynasty4th to 12th centuryAssam.
Ruled by three dynasties viz Varman dynasty, Mlechchha dynasty, Pala dynasty (Kamarupa).

Delhi SultanateFrom 1206 to 1526
Delhi and its surrounding regions.
1. the Mamluk dynasty (1206–1290)2. the Khalji dynasty (1290–1320)3. the Tughlaq dynasty (1320–1414)4. the Sayyid dynasty (1414–1451)5. the Lodi dynasty (1451–1526)
Chero dynastyFrom the 12th to 18th centuryparts of eastern Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Jharkhand.
Reddy Kingdom1325 to 1448Ruled in Andhra Pradesh.
Seuna (Yadava) dynasty1190–1315an old Kannada-Maratha dynasty.
Ruled  present-day Maharashtra, north Karnataka and parts of Madhya Pradesh, from its capital at Devagiri.
Vijayanagara Empire1336–1646It was established by the brothers Harihara I and Bukka Raya I of the Sangama dynasty.
The empire is named after its capital city of Vijayanagara, whose ruins surround present day Hampi
Gajapati Empire1434–1541Ruled over Kalinga (the present day Odisha).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *